Quick Links

Useful Links

GSO Test


Click on the headings below to view more information.


I am pleased to welcome you to our school's website which gives you some information about our school, its aims, organisation and activities.

Details of the application process to our school are contained on the site in the admissions section.

Should you have any queries or wish to discuss any aspects of school life or work which you feel have not been covered then please either telephone or Email the school for further information.

At St James the Great we seek to create a supportive and friendly environment where each child has the opportunity to develop the highest possible level of achievement fulfilling their academic, moral, physical and spiritual potential in a climate of tolerance of individual differences where Gospel values permeate daily life and we strive to use our skills and talents for the good of all.

This parish partnership is further strengthened through the home school partnership that also exists, this is integral to the success of our pupils.

As a church school we very much value our close working relationship with our feeder parishes of St Bartholomew's, Norbury, and St Andrew's, Thornton Heath and the support we receive from parish clergy in providing strong chaplaincy provision for the school. This parish partnership is further strengthened through the home school partnership that also exists, this is integral to the success of our pupils.

We are very fortunate in having a supportive Governing Body, dedicated Parents Association and, of course, a particularly skilled and committed staff along with hardworking children.

I hope our website gives you some sense of the vibrant nature of our school and the broad and balanced curriculum that we strive to provide. The link provided to the Department for Education and Skills Ofsted site will enable you to access the excellent inspection report on the school. We have also provided a copy of the inspection report on the school carried out by the Diocesan authorities, which is of an equally high standard. Please find our most recent Inspection report here .

One of our recent developments is the installation of a solar powered weather station provided by our Friend's Association on the roof of our school. This provides ongoing data collection on climatic conditions, which is available for use by the pupils in school.

I am nearly always out by the school entrance before and after school, please feel free to talk to me and find out more about our wonderful school community.

Mr C. Andrew | Headteacher

Staff Responsible for Class 2022/2023

  • Mr M Ruddy   B.Ed (Primary), Diploma in Leadership & Coaching, NPQH
    Deputy Head teacher ,DSL (designated safeguarding lead),
    Lead for Assessment, EYFS Leader, CPD, Teaching school, NQT and teach first.
  • Miss L Falconer
    Nursery Teacher
  • Mrs S O'Rorke (2 Days) & Mrs N Carder (3 days) (Lead for curriculum)
  • Mr M Kenny  Bsc PGCE QTS
    Computing Team
  • Mr M Lacelles 
    Science leader & Oracy Leader Drama
  • Miss Z  Mirza
  • Miss Z Lawal  BA Hons 
  • Mrs L Pappano 
  • Miss Almeida BA (Hons) Education Culture & Society, PGCE QTS
    Art Leader & Volunteer Placements
  • Mrs M Elliott
  • Miss Rees
  • Miss V Berry BA (Hons),PGCE QTS
    Humanities Leader
  • Miss S Eaton BA (Hons),PGCE QTS
    P.E Leader
  • Miss L Fazal 
  • Miss K Hall
  • Mrs L Szymaniak BA (Hons) Education & Learning, PGCE QTS, PSHE Lead, Literacy Lead 
    R.E Leader
  • Mrs G Foad 
    Cover Teacher (Thursday & Friday)
  • Miss L O'Brien
    Cover Teacher (Monday, Tuesday, Friday)
  • Mrs J Harrod
    Music & Intervention Teacher

Nursery Nurses

  • Ms P. Chambers NNEB
    (based in Nursery)
  • Mrs S Kelsall NNEB
    (based in Reception)

Learning Support Assistants (LSAs)

  • Mrs N Mezzela
    Year 1 
  • Mrs B Willis, Mrs B Wentworth, 
    Year 1
  • Mrs S Fernandes
    Year 2
  • Mrs S Reynolds
    Year 6
  • Mrs B Parfitt
    Year 4
  • Ms C Melody
    Year 6
  • Mrs H Leatham
    Year 5
  • Mrs G McGowan
    Year 3
  • Mr P Smith
    Year 3
  • Mrs L Stonkute
  • Mrs C Menezes
  • Mrs E Miles
    Year 6
  • Mrs S Rodrigues
    Year 3
  • Mrs V Mendelsohn
    Year 2
  • Mrs M Elliott
    Year 6
  • Mrs S Van Spall
    Year 4
  • Mrs R Ramos
  • Mrs M Rooney
    Year 4
  • Mrs M McElhinney (ELSA Support)
    Year 3
  • Mrs J Savage
  • Mrs M Lopeman
    Year 4 Intervention
  • Mrs S Gater
  • Miss E Watson
    Year 2
  • Mr T Grant
    Year 4
  • Mrs F Noles
    Year 2
  • Mrs M Regan
    Library Manager, Reading Intervention, LSA Cover

Lunchtime Meals Supervisors

  • Mrs F Noles
    Senior Lunchtime Meals Supervisor
  • Mrs P Vella
    Lunchtime Meals Supervisor
  • Mrs H Azoui
    Lunchtime Meals Supervisor
  • Mrs A Calcagno
    Lunchtime Meals Supervisor
  • Mrs C Nash
    Lunchtime Meals Supervisor
  • Mrs S O'Doherty
    Lunchtime Meals Supervisor

Non-Teaching Staff

  • Mr M Humphreys
    School Business Manager 
  • Mrs M Marchant
    PA to Headteacher (Tues-Fri)
  • Mrs L Harries
    Finance and Administration Officer (Mon-Thurs)
  • Mrs M Kiedrowska
    Administration Officer
  • Mrs BJ Armstrong
    Administration Officer
  • Ms P Skelton
    Catering Manageress
  • Mrs T Apicella
    Assistant Catering Manageress
  • Mrs C Watts
    Kitchen Assistant
  • Mrs M Bridgett
    Kitchen Assistant
  • Mrs S Barrett
    Kitchen Assistant
  • Mr R Dyke
  • Mr K Miller
    Assistant Caretaker